Broughty Ferry

Broughty Ferry on a November afternoon

Broughty Ferry is a suburb of Dundee, four miles east of the city centre on the north bank of the Firth of Tay. Formerly a prosperous fishing and whaling village, in the 19th century it attracted some of the wealthy jute barons to build luxury villas. As a result, Broughty Ferry was referred to at the time as the “richest square mile in Europe”. It was a separate burgh from 1864 until 1913, when it was incorporated into the city.

Having a couple of hours of daylight left on our last afternoon in Dundee we decided to explore the area, which we’d never visited before. The main attraction was the castle. Built in 1496 on a rocky promontory at the mouth of the Tay, it has faced many sieges and battles. In the 18th century it fell into ruins, but was rebuilt in the 1860s as part of the coastal defence system. Today, it functions as a museum with exhibits on various aspects of Broughty life.

The guns in the gallery above have an interesting history, having spent part of their lives as bollards on the pier! They were rescued and restored in the 1990s (click on image to enlarge for full explanation).

The castle’s top floors provided good views over the harbour and the beach. Not many people out there – it was cold!

After leaving the castle we wandered round the harbour. The sculpture is Wind Dial by Adrienne McStay, donated by Broughty Ferry Arts Society in 2006.

The town itself is rather charming and we enjoyed a stroll here too.

By the time we got back to the castle where our car was parked the light was fading and it was time to head back to our hotel in the city centre.